Herbier, Healthier Kedgeree

I know, I know – this is supposed to be a travel blog, and here I am uploading recipes. The truth is, I probably love food even more than I love travelling, and so I’m trying out writing a couple of simple recipes .

Kedgeree is one of those dishes that I’d never tried before I moved to London. It originates from British India – the perfect mashup of the countries’ culinary preferences – and is usually eaten for breakfast, but I see no reason why it can’t be eaten at dinner too!

I thought I’d try to make my own recipe after eating it out at restaurants a few times. The versions I’ve had have all been completely different, one had loads of cheese and no eggs and the other was a lot drier and had only a little bit of fish, so I thought I’d create a blend which is a little bit more substantial and aromatic (plus this is tastier and more nutritious!).

img_2576

Ingredients (serves 2 plus leftover for 1 person’s lunch!):

Fresh vegetables

bunch coriander
handful parsley
handfull dill
half a white onion
1 clove garlic
lime
avocado
any greens you like – clear out the fridge! (tender-stem broccoli, mange tout, spinach would all work)
free-range eggs (1 per person)

Cupboard

brown rice (I used 1/2 cup rice to 2 and a bit cups water)
turmeric
cumin
ground coriander
chilli flakes
fish sauce
olive oil
salt and pepper

Fridge/Frozen

butter
cooked oily fish (1 fillet per person) – I like smoked mackerel but salmon or haddock is delicious too. You could always cook it yourself but I don’t bother because this is England and supermarkets have made me lazy
peas (frozen are fine)

Method:

Start cooking your rice (you can use white, brown or maybe even quinoa if you wanted). Everyone has their own method of cooking rice, but I cook my brown rice on the stove with a ratio of 4 and a bit water to 1 rice. I usually add salt while it cooks, but for this dish I added a dash of fish sauce.

Bring another pan of water to the boil, then add in your eggs and boil for 8 minutes. When they’re done, pop them into a bowl of cold water so they stop cooking and are cool enough to handle later.

In another saucepan, boil water and add in your frozen peas. Cook for about 4 minutes or until you can see/feel they’re done. Drain and leave to the side.

While you’re doing this, start chopping your fresh ingredients. Crush and chop your garlic, cut your onion into half moons, and cut the end stalks off your bunch of coriander and chop them finely. Cut your greens into bite-sized pieces (I used courgette/zucchini because I had it in the fridge and wanted to use it up) and, keeping it separate from the other ingredients, shred your fish into small pieces using a knife and fork.

img_2579

Throw the onion, garlic and coriander stalks into a frying pan, with some chilli flakes, olive oil and a slither of butter and cook on a medium heat until soft.

Add in your greens and saute them with the other ingredients, and then add in your ground coriander, turmeric and cumin. No exact science here, I just add enough until there’s a lovely colour on them and you can smell the spices.

img_2585

When your rice is cooked, drain and add to the frying pan, cooking off any excess water. Now turn the heat down to low and keep it there. Add a little more butter in and coat the rice in all the spices, butter and oil. Add a generous dash of fish sauce and any other spices you think you need more of, along with salt and pepper to taste (you probably won’t need much salt as the fish sauce and fish are full of it).

Once this is all looking evenly-coloured, add in your fresh herbs and mix them through. I love herbs, and am generous with them, but just exclude any of the ones you don’t like or don’t use as much as I have.

Then add your cooked peas and fish. Again, mix them to coat them in the flavours and warm them through, before adding the juice of half a lime.

You can now peel your eggs, and cut these and your remaining lime in half or quarters, ready for serving.

Serve up your kedgeree into a bowl.

Scoop out some avocado from its skin and add it to the bowl, along with your eggs and lime wedge.

This made enough for 2 people plus lunch the next day (following the cook once, eat twice method) – and it’s just as yummy eaten cold so you won’t upset your colleagues by microwaving stinky fish.

img_2598

Leave a Reply

